Tinasdietdiary's Blog

Lent resolutions, vacation and the next steps

Posted on: March 2, 2010

My best friend (who never had any weight troubles) asked me if I would join her in her lent. She proposed not to eat sweets, no wheat and no sweet drinks. After considering it a little I agreed and decided that I would follow the Metabolic Balance routine until my vacation and see where it goes from there. As usual, I started off great, the first wednesday I sticked to what I planned, but on thursday it already went wrong. I was home alone at my parents house and I ate everything I could think of. There weren’t a lot of sweets, but oatmeal, cheesecream sandwiches, peanuts…I didn’t technically cheat on our lent rules, but I did cheat on myself. I felt bad about it, so I decided to go to the office to work on friday in order to stay away from temptations at home. Which worked out well, I even passed the sweets that my colleagues offered me but when I had to go to the post office and I was really hungry (apparently I had forgotten that hunger is not an emergency) I meant to get a granola bar and ended up with cookies. When I got home that night I again ate everything that crossed my mind.

Luckily the next day I went on vacation and being so excited about it, I only had yoghurt and fruit salad for breakfast and did not have time for lunch before I left. So when we got to the airport at night, my friend who I went on vacation with and I were starving and headed to McDonald’s. Not good. But very tasty…I haven’t had it in a long long time. Even though this was certainly not a good start, the vacation went very very well diet-wise. We chose not to do All-Inclusive because we knew we would be stuffing our faces all the time, so instead we just had breakfast and dinner at the hotel. The food was okay, but not superdelicious so the chances of overeating were minimal. I sometimes had a little cake for dessert, but I never ate chocolate!!!! For lunch we mostly just had granola bars and juice and bananas and I am very happy to say that in the whole of our vacation, I did not eat any sweets! My friend didn’t really think about it until we were on our way back and then was amazed. We’ve known each other since High School and also studied together and eating loads of chocolate has always been one of our favourite hobbies. We also went diving and swimming a lot and I also got sick one day and didn’t eat for 24 hours, so my stomach got nice and slim. I hadn’t weighed myself before the vacation so I don’t know what happened to my weight, but I felt much better and I weighed myself with my parents’ scale and it told me 102 kg (it’s meaner than mine at home so I can’t wait to get on that one). I will go there on wednesday and I want my weight to be two-digit!!!!

So today I had a cream cheese bun and fruit salad for breakfast, green cabbage and sausages for lunch and sweet-sour chicken, rice and salad for dinner. My mum gave me a cookie and I was not in resistance-mode so I ate it but I will tell her tomorrow that she should not give me things and try very hard to stay away from them myself. I haven’t decided how my next steps will look exactly and since I will be all over the place planning only works for so long…but I will not eat sweets and no bad bad carbs for sure. Maybe I should just plan my eating like this and try to stick to my plan, according to the Beck Diet and see where that takes me in a week. Because of the things ahead the next 1,5 weeks will be superexciting and I should plan some treats, but maybe not the extremely sugary kind. Since I don’t know if I am moving soon, I don’t know if I should get a new month pass for the gym, but maybe I should get it anyways and make good use of it while I still can. I could also get a pass for 10 visits, but that is actually more expensive, so if I get the 4-week one now I can use it more than 10 times.

So many things to make up my mind about.

Leave a Reply

My Twitter Feed

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

